About “Dogfriend”

Der Internationale Verein Dogfriend (IVDF) is an international not-for-profit organization that unites dog owners, dog trainers, animal behaviourists who adhere to principles of The New Cynology.

The organization was established on 6 December 2011 in Vienna (Austria). It has been registered under the name Der Internationale Verein Dogfriend and registration number (ZVR-Zahl) 772890723.

Today, the IVDF brings people together from Austria, Germany, Latvia, Bulgaria, Ukraine, Russia.

Founder members

Olga Kajarskaia, animal behaviorist, publisher, Austria

After graduation, first in economics, then in multimedia development, I've decided to follow the dictates of my heart. So in 2006 my career changed dramatically, when I graduated from the swiss Akademie für Tiernaturheilkunde (ATN) in Zürich, department of dog psychology. Later on, after leaving for Austria, a whole new world opened up for me, namely, Turid Rugaas school of dog training. Not very well known in Austria back then, the school (I think of it as school of thought, now represented by The PDTE organization), had been giving voice to ideas, that were (and still are) in almost the perfect agreement with my own ideas about dogs.

I've been studying works of the school (and not just) through the books, seminars, workshops, lectures for many years. Luckily, with its centers for dog cognition research and well-developed dog training scene, Vienna provides excellent opportunities for education.

Having borne in mind a lack of high quality books in Russia, my homeland, I have decided to share what I've learnt by publishing most important books on dog behavior in russian language. In addition, I was attracted by the idea of book publishing, as it carries on what I have been doing back in 1999 — educating people on how to make animl welfare more efficient.

Vitaly Samigullin, translator, developer, Austria

A translator, software developer who has a lively interest in the wildlife and animal behavior.

History of Organization

The IVDF is based upon an international animal welfare initiative “Dogfriend” and publishing company Verlag Dogfriend Publishers.

“Dogfriend” has always been aware of its mission to bring together animal welfare acivists from many countries. Since 1999, “Dogfriend” has helped stray, abandoned and abused dogs at the shelters in Russia, Spain, Germany and Austria.

The web portal “Dogfriend” was amongst the first in Russia to cover important topics in animal welfare: animal husbandry, fur farming, meat industry, cosmetic industry, animals for entertainment, animal research. The portal was created with the information support of “Tierhilfswerk Deutschland”, “Tierschutzbund”, “PETA-Deutschland”, “Vier Pfoten-Austria”, “VGT” (Austria), “Vita” (Russia).

For years “Dogfriend” has helped immigrants to move to Germany with their pets, has asisted german families with the adoption of russian homeless animals.

“Dogfriend” has also helped russian activists to launch the first local animal shelters and to establish the activist network across the country. At the request of our colleagues, “Dogfriend” has many times petitioned russian authorities to help animal rescue groups, appealing to the experience of western countries.

The documentary production was amongst the Dogfriend's most important achievements. 11 short films by VGT eV (Austria) were dubbed into Russian. Funded and distributed solely by the Dogfriend, the films have spread across the country, primarily among the youth. Later on, having been ethusiastically received by journalists, the films have been repeatedly show on Russian TV and festivals.

On 2 September 2008 in Vienna (Austria), based upon the animal welfare initiative “Dogfriend”, the publishing house Verlag Dogfriend Publishers was founded. The goal of the company is to publish books by world's leading experts, who had paved the way for the cynology, based on the current biology — the New Cynology.

Modern science has laid a foundation for dog-human relationships to flourish. It provides a solid evidence-based foundation for natural conflict-free relationship between a humand and a dog; provides a basis for the proper assessment of dog behavior; points out mistakes that could lead to serious problems; opens a door to effecient non-violent training methods.

Since unethical dog training methods are still widely used throughout Russian-speaking countries, Dogfriend's books have triggered an explosion. In order to introduce the brand new approach to living and working with dogs, we had to launch a counselling service for dog owners and trainers, start up an educational website and build up a loyal clientele.

There is now a great demand for high quality information. To fulfill it Dogfriend publishes articles, electronic booklets on its website, through the mailing list as well as through the mass media (“Dog World” magazine, BBC Russian service, russian television).

Creating the new culture of living with dogs is under way not only in the ex-USSR countries, but also in Europe. Professional contacts gained during these years, have made it possible for Dogfriend to extend its international presence. In 2009 a center for dog trainer and dog owner education was launched. Since then, Dogfriend Center have been operating in Austria and Russia, inviting experts on The New Cynology from all over Europe.

Having been involved in the international process of creating a new culture for years, Dogfriend was lead to the next step — the international organization Dogfriend (Der Internationale Verein Dogfriend, IVDF). In 2011, for promotional purposes, the concept “New Cynology” was introduced as a system that brings together most important theoretical knowledge along with its practical application.

IVDF (en) > About

Что такое «Догфренд?»

Интернациональное Общество Догфренд (Der Internationale Verein Dogfriend, IVDF) — это организация, объединяющая владельцев собак и профессионалов из разных стран, которые живут и работают с собакой на основе Новой Кинологии.

Общество зарегистрировано 06.12.2011 в городе Вена (Австрия) под номером (ZVR-Zahl) 772890723. В настоящее время членами организации являются жители Германии, Австрии, Латвии, Болгарии, Украины, России.

О создателях

Ольга Кажарская, психолог собак школы Тюрид Ругос, издатель, Австрия

Получив образование экономиста и разработчика мультимедиа, я решила поддаться велению сердца и стала психологом собак. В 2006 году я закончила Академию по Психологии животных (ATN), факультет «Психология собак», Цюрих (Швейцария). После окончания Академии, я переехала в Вену и открыла для себя пока еще мало известное в то время направление в кинологии — школу Тюрид Ругос. Эта школа представляет идеологию обращения с собаками, которая наилучшим образом отвечала моим собственным представлениям о собаке.

На протяжении многих лет я изучала труды представителей этой школы и посещала семинары ее последователей. При этом Вена с ее центрами по изучению психологии собак и развитой кинологической сценой оказалась наиболее подходящим местом для повышения квалификации.

Зная о недостатке качественной литературы о собаках у себя на родине, в России, я решила опубликовать наиболее важные книги на русском языке и объяснить новый подход другим. Эта деятельность привлекла меня еще и потому, что является продолжением моей работы, начатой в 1999 году: с помощью книг и другой практической информации я могла защищать собак от жестокости более эффективно, чем это позволяют простые воззвания к гуманности.

Виталий Самигуллин, Австрия

Переводчик, технический специалист, координатор проектов.

История создания

Общество создано на базе интернациональной зоозащитной инициативы «Догфренд» и издательства «Догфренд Паблишерс» (Verlag Dogfriend Publishers).

«Догфренд» всегда осознавал свою миссию моста, соединяющего зоозащитников разных стран. Начиная с 1999 года «Догфренд» оказывает помощь брошенным и пострадавшим животным в приютах России, Германии, Испании и Австрии.

Интернет-портал «Догфренд» был одним из первых в России, опубликовавшим информацию о положении домашних животных, а также о положении животных в различных отраслях деятельности человека — в производстве мяса, меха и косметики, индустрии развлечений, в сфере исследований. Создание портала стало возможным благодаря информационной поддержке видных международных организаций “Tierhilfswerk Deutschland”, “Tierschutzbund”, “PETA-Deutschland”, “Vier Pfoten-Austria”, “VGT” (Австрия), «ВИТА» (Россия).

Долгое время «Догфренд» оказывал помощь эмигрантам при переезде с домашними питомцами в Германию и содействовал пристройству бездомных животных из России в немецких семьях.

«Догфренд» оказывал информационную поддержку российским зоозащитникам при создании первых русских приютов и налаживанию зоозащитной работы в России. По просьбе российских коллег, «Догфренд» не раз обращался к главам русских городов с разъяснением необходимости создания приютов и поддержке зоозащитного движения, доказывая эту необходимость на примере западных стран.

Самой известной акцией Догфренда явилась публикация на русском языке 11 короткометражных фильмов по защите животных (производство организации VGT eV, Австрия). Фильмы были дублированы на русский язык на собственные средства «Догфренд» и распространялись бесплатно. Они нашли широкий отклик, в первую очередь, у российской молодежи и многократно демонстрировались на фестивалях и по русскому телевидению.

2 сентября 2008 года в г. Вена (Австрия) на базе зоозащитной организации «Догфренд» было зарегистрировано одноименное издательство. Задачей издательства является публикация произведений экспертов разных стран, заложивших фундамент Новой Кинологии — кинологии, основанной на современных открытиях в области биологии.

Новые знания создали совершенно новый базис для отношений человека и собаки. Они дают возможность научно обоснованной оценки поведения собак; доказывают естественную возможность бесконфликтной совместной жизни человека и собаки; указывают на фатальные ошибки, приводящие к серьезным проблемам поведения; а также предлагают эффективные методы тренировки, действительно исключающие насилие.

В русскоязычных странах по-прежнему распространены насильственные методы обращения с собакой, во многом основанные на предрассудках. В такой обстановке книги «Догфренд Паблишерс» вызвали бурную реакцию. Чтобы внедрить новый подход, редакторы издательства оказались вынужденными проводить разъяснительную работу, консультировать владельцев собак и тренеров, налаживать контакты между единомышленниками.

Пытаясь удовлетворить огромный спрос в качественной информации, издательство постоянно публикует статьи и электронные брошюры как на своих собственных ресурсах (на сайте и в новостной рассылке), так и в средствах массовой информации (в журнале «Мир собак», на радио ВВС-Russia, по российскому телевидению).

Но процесс образования новой культуры обращения с собаками идет не только на территории бывшего СССР, но и в более прогрессивной Европе. Наработанные в результате двенадцатилетней деятельности контакты позволили расширить рамки работы «Догфренда» и начать интернациональную деятельность.

В 2009 году был создан образовательный центр Dogfriend Center , где проводятся семинары для специалистов и владельцев собак России и Австрии. Программа семинаров включает занятия с основоположниками Новой Кинологии разных стран.

«Догфренд» оказался важным участником международного процесса формирования новой культуры обращения с собаками. Это привело к созданию Интернационального Общества Догфренд (Der Internationale Verein Dogfriend, IVDF).

Для лучшего продвижения идей «Догфренда» в 2011 году был создан концепт ©Новая Кинология, преподносящий важнейшие практические знания о собаках как единое целое.

IVDF (ru) > О нас